Skip to Content (Press Enter)
Text size
Line space
Contrast
normal contrast icon
high contrast icon

Black background with yellow text

visittartu [at] visittartu.com (Give feedback)
...

See & Do

Historical buildings

Arch Bridge (Kaarsild)

Kaarsild is a pedestrian bridge between the city centre and the Ülejõe district. It was built in 1957–1959 to replace the former Kivisild bridge, on the foundations of its abutments. Before the bridge was completed, a long rowing boat was used to regularly transport people over the river in the 1950s. The bridge was renovated in 2017. In the dark, the bridge is illuminated and additionally, musical works, accompanied by a light show, can be seen that are synchronised with the bell ringing of the town hall. The sound and light design is a unique public space project of its kind in Estonia. Next to the bridge, there is also a model of the Kivisild bridge that was destroyed in World War II.

view all photos(10)
  • Vabaduse puiestee, Tartu linn
    view on map

  • info [at] visittartu.com
  • 24 hours

Features and amenities

Amenities

Information boards

Paid parking

Wheelchair accessible

Site lighting

Find more

Find more