Restaurant Püssirohukelder, which was used as a gunpowder cellar until 1809, can be found right on the slope of Tartu Toomemägi. It was built in 1767 in the moat that separated the Episcopal Castle from the front stronghold. The cellar was built using the bricks from the ruins of the medieval Maarja (St Mary’s) Church and the walls of the Episcopal Castle. The high ceiling is the most unique feature of Tartu Püssirohukelder. Interesting facts: - Püssirohukelder has also belonged to the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics of the University of Tartu that started using the cellar in 1896 to study earthquakes and magnetic phenomena.