The museum is situated in a building that was built in 1858 as a horse station. The museum exhibits data and items that reflect on the local history. The tour starts with the legends of Kalevipoeg and places related to them; it ends in the recent past. Permanent exhibitions tell us about different periods and are placed respectively in five rooms. Visitors can learn about the birth and re-independence of the Republic of Estonia, the local educational and social life, the activities of the local fire brigade and sports enthusiasts, and farm life in 1920–1940. There is also an exhibition on the life in the period of collective farms.